meet the parents part 4.

new relationships call for added stress. good stress of course. tonight, i am going to meet my boyfriend’s parents for the first time. this is not something i tend to do quite often, for the mere fact that the word boyfriend usually sends me running the other way. i am anti-relationships. anti-boyfriends. i like doing me, but somehow, i have found my way into a relationship and couldn’t be happier. besides the obvious, what if they hate me, what if we have nothing to talk about, what if more food ends up on my shirt than in my mouth .. situations that keep crossing my mind i have the what should i wear factor. of course i am sure i am not the only girl in the universe to stress over this, so i thought i would shed some light on this situation.

appropriate attire: jeans. blazer. blouse. flats. dress (not too short/ not too tight). long skirt.

inappropriate attire: shorts. flip flops. too much cleavage. clubbing attire. stripper heels.

if your nails are chipping, take the polish off. ALL OF IT. should you take something? YES! something small. make-up, minimal. do not look like you are going out with your girlfriends to pick up some guys, remember you have a man now, time to be conservative.

 

Imagejuicy jeans, michael kors clutch, blowfish flats, h&m blouse.

 

as i type this my heart is beating probably a million miles a minute. it is the type of nervous i get when i have to speak in front of a group of people 15+. as an outgoing person, this is weird.. i never get nervous but right now, i can barely breathe. i will most likely take a brown bag with me, so if need be, i can hyperventilate into that. wish me luck.

One response

Leave a Reply

