textbooks VS. iPad

A few days ago, I got my hands on my friends iPad and there was nothing like it. I don’t really keep up with the latest gadgets out there, except for my Mac, of course, but my goodness, the iPad was truly something else. It is incredible how amazing movies, websites and games look on it. Almost as if it was fake. It is smaller than a computer and probably just as heavy as my iPhone. It is light weight and durable and allows you to do so much with it.

Individuals aren’t the only ones who seem to be in this iPad craze. In New York, public schools have ordered more than 2,000 iPad’s since its release. That is approximately $1.3 million. SERIOUSLY! I understand technology has come along way from when I was in school (which was NOT that long ago!), but iPads in classrooms! This might be my jealous side, but what happened to the days when kids used those ancient computers to play games like Oregon Trail or Where in the World is Carmen San Diego! When we had to carry around a text book for every single class and our book bags looked more like suitcases (wait… they were. HAHA.. remember those rolling book bags!) Now iPads are replacing text books for older children and are being used as developmental aids for younger children. Those in kindergarten are being introduced to colors and shapes on the iPad.

Personally, I disagree, maybe because I don’t have one, but shouldn’t money from tax payers be going toward increasing the pay of teachers, instead of iPads for every kid in the class?

Leave a Reply

